Day 1: Rohit, Sher give APF and Province 7 opening wins.

Rohit Paudel

First match : APF Vs Province No. 4

Rohit paudel’s striking 73 runs from only 41 balls thumped out Province number 4 in the first match of the Prime Minister cup that commenced from today.


Chasing 240 runs to win, Armed Police Force with no trouble completed the target in 36.3 over’s losing 5 wickets only. APF didn’t have the best of starts losing Aasif Sheikh and Anil Kumar Sah early on at the score of 13 runs only. Pradeep Airee (37) and Subash Khakuirel (48) held the innings adding 79 runs for the third wicket before AIree was caught of Govinda Pradhan’s delivery. Then came Prithu Baskota (53 off 53 balls, 1 four & 7 sixes) who also made a formidable partnership with Khakurel and Rohit Paudel. Prithu got out for 53 runs finishing his job when APF needed only 6 more ruins to win.

Rohit’s knock of 73 runs included 10 fours and 3 over the boundary hits. He saw the Armed Police Force home with 13.3 over’s to spare and 5 wickets in hand. 9 bowlers were used by the province number 4 among which Bipin Khatri, Hari Chauhan, Govinda Pradhan and Suma Ghimire all took a wicket each.

Earlier winning the toss, Province Number 4 elected to bat first. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals; however Suma Ghimire and skipper Bidhan Ghimire salvaged the innings to put a decent total on the board. Ghimire with a  six and 7 fours made 57 runs off 64 balls while the skipper Bidhan Shrestha added 43 runs off 82 balls. Towards the end of the innings Amrit Gurung made a quick fire 27 runs off 11 balls to give a decent total of 239 in their allotted 50 over’s.

APF’s bowling card was led by Kamal Singh Airee who snapped 3 wickets from 9 over’s yielding 42 runs. Amar Singh Routela also took 2 wickets for APF.

Second match : Province no. 6 Vs Province no. 7

Likewise, the second match held at the Mulpani Cricket Ground saw Province no. 7’s comfortable victory over Province no.6 by 48 runs despite a batting breakdown.


Province no 6 winning the toss invite province no. 7 to bat first and their decision proved fruitful, bowling out province no. 7 for a mere 125 runs. Tek Salami’s heroic bowling figure of 8.3-0-12-5 dismantled the first innings. Only two batsmen managed to reach the double figures. Province no. 7 major contribution with the bat came from Sanju Damai (54) who recouped the innings with a half century.

The chase was also dominated by the bowlers. Sher lama grabbed a fifer yielding only 21 runs in 7.2 over’s. Binod Lama and Santoish Bhatta also took 2 wickets each to dismantle province no.6 for a cheap 77 from 22.2 over’s. Their opener Rabindra Jung Shahi scored 29 runs before getting bowled to Sher Malla. Sher was declared the player of the match for his match winning performance with the ball.

थप समाचार

नेपालविरुद्ध बंगलादेश : यस्तो छ इतिहास

काठमाडौं । नेपालले वेस्ट इन्डिज र अमेरिकामा जारी रहेको नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपको आफ्नो अन्तिम खेलमा सोमबार बिहान बंगलादेशको सामना […]

बंगलादेशलाई हराएर इतिहास रच्ने लक्ष्यमा नेपाल

काठमाडौं । नेपालले वेस्ट इन्डिज र अमेरिकामा जारी रहेको नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपको आफ्नो अन्तिम खेलमा सोमबार बिहान बंगलादेशको सामना […]

अस्ट्रेलियाले स्कटल्यान्डलाई हराउँदा इंग्ल्यान्ड सुपर एटमा

काठमाडौं । स्कटल्यान्ड अमेरिका तथा वेस्ट इन्डिजमा जारी नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपमा अस्ट्रेलियासँग पराजित हुँदा इंग्ल्यान्डले सुपर एटमा स्थान बनाएको […]

स्कटल्यान्डले दियो अस्ट्रेलियालाई १८१ रनको लक्ष्य

काठमाडौं । स्कटल्यान्डले अमेरिका तथा वेस्ट इन्डिजमा जारी नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपमा अस्ट्रेलियालाई जितका लागि १ सय ८१ रनको लक्ष्य […]

भारत र क्यानडाबीचको खेल रद्द

काठमाडौं । वेस्ट इन्डिज र अमेरिकामा जारी नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकप अन्तर्गतको ३३ औं खेल वर्षाका कारण रद्द भएको छ […]

टी-२० विश्वकप : क्यानडा र भारत तथा इंग्ल्यान्ड र नामिबिया खेल्दै

काठमाडौं । वेस्ट इन्डिज र अमेरिकामा जारी आईसिसी टी–२० विश्वकप क्रिकेट अन्तर्गतको ३३ औं खेलमा शनिबार भारत र क्यानडा भिड्दै […]