Lamichhane stars as Nepal escape Singapore scare

Nepal U19 Cricket Team

Nepal U-19 has won against the hosts Singapore by 22 runs in the ongoing ICC Asia Under-19’s World Cup Qualifier. In the hard fought match, Nepali Skipper Sandeep Lamichhane kept his nerves and picked crucial wickets in the end to keep Nepal’s hope alive for ICC U-19 World Cup to be held in New Zealand next year.

Scorecard || Points Table ||

After electing to bat first for the first time in the tournament, Nepal lost all their wickets in 46.5 overs posting a total of 168 runs. In reply, Singapore were only able to score a total of 146 runs before losing all their wickets by 46.5 overs.

Chasing a low total of 169 runs, Singapore made a decent start with an opening stand of 40 runs in the 12th over before opening batsman Rohan Rangarajan was caught and bowled by skipper Sandeep Lamichhane for 23 runs. Rohan smacked 3 fours and a six while his fellow partner Sean Agrawal scored 21 runs before he was trapped in front by Kishore Mahato. Sidhant batting at No.3 scored 25 runs while Wicket Keeper batman Hanshul Deep scored 32 runs, both these batsmen were victims of the leggy Sandeep Lamichhane. But these individual contributions of Singapore batsmen weren’t enough as they failed to build any formidable partnership and Singapore fell short by 22 runs in the end. Singapore lost their last 5 wickets for just 7 runs as Lamichhane and Pawan Sarraf took care of the tail.

Sandeep Lamichhane celebrating wicket
Skipper Sandeep Lamichhane once again rose to the occasion picking up 4 wickets in this match. ( File Pic )

Skipper Sandeep Lamichhane once again rose to the occasion picking up 4 wickets in this match. Lamichhane bowled 10 overs for just 22 runs including a maiden while Kishore Mahato and Pawan Sharraf picked up 2 wickets each. Mahato conceded just 23 runs off his 8 overs bowling maiden whereas Sarraf finished the innings conceding 28 runs of his 7.5 overs. Dipendra Singh Airee was also able to chip in with a wicket.

Earlier, Nepal U-19 shuffled the batting order as Anil Shah opened with Sandeep Sunar. But that did’t make any difference since the opening stand just lasted for 1st 2.4 over. Anil Shah was caught out for 7 runs while Sunar made a decent contribution of 26 runs off 55 balls hitting 2 fours and a six. Wicket keeper batsman Aasif Sheikh, who was demoted to no.4 failed once again scoring just 3 runs.

Dipendra Airee scored 54 runs off 83 balls smashing 2 fours and 2 sixes
Dipendra Airee scored 54 runs off 83 balls smashing 2 fours and 2 sixes

The middle order collapsed as Pranit Thapa Magar scored 8 runs, Rohit Kumar Poudel scored 15 runs and Pawan Sharraf scored 2 runs. Dipendra Singh Airee scored a steady half century and kept the hopes alive for Nepal as he was well supported by Prakash KC. Dipendra scored 54 runs off 83 balls smashing 2 fours and 2 sixes while Prakash KC scored 23 runs off 24 balls.

Bir Bikram Biswaray dismantled the middle order picking up 3 wickets. Bikram conceded only 29 runs of his 10 overs including 2 maidens. Aahan Gopinath and Aryaman Sunil bagged 2 wickets each.

In the last match, Nepal lost to Afghanistan by 141 runs. || Scorecard ||

In the other match held today Afghanistan won by 10 wickets against Malaysia, successfully chasing a target of 59 in 5.4 overs.

Nepal still remain on 2nd of the table with 6 points while Afghanistan top the table with 8 points.

Nepal will face Malaysia in their 5th match of the qualifiers on 24th of July, Monday.

The winner of the tournament will qualify through to the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018 to be held in January, in New Zealand. Nepal are bunched up with Malaysia, Afghanistan and the hosts Singapore in the qualifiers.

थप समाचार

गल्फद्वारा दीपेन्द्रलाई रिटेन

काठमाडौं । युएईमा आयोजना हुने अन्तराष्ट्रिय टी-२० लिग क्रिकेट लिगमा गल्फ जायन्ट्सले नेपालका दीपेन्द्रसिंह ऐरीलाई आगामी संस्करणका लागि रिटेन गरेको […]

दीपेन्द्र अहिलेसम्मकै उच्च वरियतामा

काठमाडौं । नेपाली राष्ट्रिय क्रिकेट टोलीका अलराउन्डर दीपेन्द्रसिंह ऐरीले वरियतामा छलाङ मारेका छन् । अन्तराष्ट्रिय क्रिकेट परिषद (आइसीसी)ले जारी गरेको […]

टी-२० विश्वकप : सुपर एटका खेल आजबाट

काठमाडौं । नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपको दोस्रो चरण (सुपर एट) का खेलहरु आज (बुधबबार) बाट सुरु हुदैछ । सुपर एटको […]

रोहितसँग झगडा गरेका तन्जिममाथि आइसीसीको कारबाही

काठमाडौं । बंगलादेशका तीव्र गतिका बलर तान्जिम हसन शाकिबमाथि अन्तराष्ट्रिय क्रिकेट परिषद (आइसीसी) ले कारबाही गरेको छ । आइसीसीले आइतबार […]

तथ्याकंमा नेपालको विश्वकप यात्रा..

काठमाडौं । नेपालले सन् २०१४ पछि दश वर्षको अन्तरालमा सन् २०२४ मा वेस्ट इन्डिज र अमेरिकामा जारी टी-२० विश्वकपमा सहभागीता […]

अफगानिस्तानमाथि वेस्ट इन्डिजको सानदार जित

काठमाडौं । वेस्ट इन्डिजले घरेलु भुमी तथा अमेरिकामा जारी नवौं संस्करणको टी-२० विश्वकपको समूह चरणको अन्तिम खेलमा अफगानिस्तानमाथि सानदार जित […]